EURIAS Fellowship Programme for researchers 2017-2018

Deadline: 8 June 2016


EURIAS Fellowship Programme

The European Institutes for Advanced Study (EURIAS) Fellowship Programme is an international researcher mobility programme offering 10-month residencies in one of the 18 participating Institutes: Aahrus, Amsterdam, Berlin, Bologna, Budapest, Cambridge, Delmenhorst, Edinburgh, Freiburg, Helsinki, Jerusalem, Lyon, Madrid, Marseille, Paris, Uppsala, Vienna, and Zürich. The Institutes for Advanced Study support the focused, self-directed work of outstanding researchers. The fellows benefit from the finest intellectual and research conditions and from the stimulating environment of a multi-disciplinary and international community of first-rate scholars.

EURIAS Fellowships are mainly offered in the fields of the humanities and social sciences but may also be granted to scholars in life and exact sciences, if their proposed research project does not require laboratory facilities and that it interfaces with humanities and social sciences. The diversity of the 18 participating IAS offers a wide range of possible research contexts in Europe for worldwide scholars. Applicants may select up to three IAS outside their country of nationality or residence as possible host institutions.


*At the time of the application, researchers must be in possession of a doctoral degree plus 2 years of full-time research experience after the degree. An exception is made for Law scholars who are eligible with a Master +6 years of full-time research experience after the degree. (PhD training is not considered in the calculation of experience).

*Researchers from all countries are eligible to the programme. At the time of the application, researchers must not have resided or carried out their main activity (work, studies, etc) in the country of the selected host institute for more than 12 months in the 3 years immediately prior to the reference date -June 8th 2016 (short stays such as holidays and/or compulsory national service are not taken into account).

*The programme is open to all disciplines in the fields of humanities and social sciences. It also welcomes applications from the arts, life and exact sciences. There is no age limit for applying to EURIAS Fellowship Programme. For more details in the eligibility requirements please direct HERE.

Scholarship value

All IAS have agreed on common standards, including the provision of a living allowance (in the range of € 26,000 for a junior fellow and € 38,000 for a senior fellow), accommodation (or a mobility allowance), a research budget, plus coverage of travel expenses.

For the 2017-2018 academic year, EURIAS offers 48 fellowships (25 junior and 23 senior positions).

Application process

Firstly you need to register HERE

EURIAS fellowship applicants have to submit in English

*A curriculum vitae comprising a list of publications (max. 10 pages)

*A detailed research proposal (max. 5 pages / 10,000 signs -spaces not included and a bibliography – max.1 additional page)

*For candidates applying for junior fellowships, two letters of recommendation (letters of recommendation are optional for senior applicants) *

*Publications in a pdf format (2 for juniors, 5 for seniors) -in case publications are in another language than English, an English-written abstract is requested- **

*Copy of the PhD diploma in a pdf format -if the writing system/scrip used in the diploma is not Latin (but, for example, Cyrillic, Chinese, Arabic or some other), a Latin script university certificate or official translation is requested

Mrs Raquel Sanz Barrio
[email protected]
The Official Website

Please follow and like us:


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.